After purchasing the property in early 2022, Developers Kirk Johnson and John Spahr of Southern States Construction, began the immense clean-up effort of the historic site built in 1903. Many of the existing structures had collapsed due to neglect and decay over the years. Clearing the piles of rubble was the first step to begin this massive project. Every brick that could be salvaged was rescued from the debris, cleaned, and stacked to be re-used elsewhere on the property.
Next, a new roof and roof deck was the priority to dry out the building after decades of slow leaks. All of the roof decking that was able to be salvaged was set aside to later build conference tables and other items. The most unique structural feature of the mill is the original timber trusses that have a clear span of 60 feet. All but one of the original trusses remained in great shape. To preserve this unique feature, timber from Missouri was brought in for replacement. This special care continued during repair of the subfloor, to preserve the original beech hardwood floors in order to tell the story of the mills and leave clues of the machinery and individuals who worked there.
The next restoration project moved to brick masonry repairs. Numerous holes from one building pulling away from the other during collapse were repaired, and entryways and window arches repaired and preserved.
Developer: Southern States Construction, LLC
Architect: John Werne
Civil & Structural Engineer: CSR Engineering
Interior Design: Southern States Construction, LLC
Masonry: David Phillips Masonry & Ramon Murguia
Specialty Trim & Framing: Alan Cobb
Demolition: Unique Restorations and B&B Dirt Works & Forestry (Clint Hobson)
Roofing: JRC Inc.
Windows/Doors: Springfield Glass
Hardwood Floor Replacement: M&M Flooring
Lead Paint & Asbestos Mitigation: Lyell Environmental